Cricket Schedule 2022 – Key Dates & Details

This year brings in a lot of interesting domestic and international cricket tournaments to watch out for. We’ve created an easy-to-follow cricket calendar for you to browse through the upcoming games throughout the year. Let’s have a look at the cricket fixtures for 2022.

International Cricket Schedule 2022

Series Date Venue Format
ICC World Test Championship 2021-23 August 4th, 2021 – March 31st, 2023 Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, and West Indies Test cricket
ICC Cricket World Cup League Two 2019-23 August 14th, 2019 – February 2023 Oman, Scotland, UAE, USA, Namibia, Nepal, and Papa New Guinea ODI cricket
England Tour of West Indies, 2022 January 22nd, 2022 – March 28th, 2022 West Indies T20I and Test cricket
New Zealand Tour of England, 2022 June 2nd, 2022 – June 27th, 2022 England Test cricket
South Africa Tour of India, 2022 June 9th, 2022 – June 19th, 2022 India T20I cricket
England Tour of Netherlands, 2022 June 17th, 2022 – June 22nd, 2022 Netherlands ODI cricket
India Tour of Ireland, 2022 June 26th, 2022 – June 28th, 2022 Ireland T20I cricket
South Africa Women’s Tour of England June 27th, 2022 – July 25th, 2022 England ODI, T20I, and Test cricket
India Tour of England, 2022 July 1st, 2022 – July 17th, 2022 England ODI, T20I, and Test cricket
New Zealand Tour of Ireland, 2022 July 10th, 2022 – July 22nd, 2022 Ireland ODI and T20I cricket
South Africa Tour of England, 2022 July 19th, 2022 – September 12th, 2022 England ODI, T20I, and Test cricket
Cricket at the Commonwealth Games 2022 July 29th, 2022 – August 7th, 2022 England T20I cricket
Ireland v South Africa in England, 2022 August 3rd, 2022 – August 5th, 2022 England T20I cricket
Basil D’Oliveira Trophy 2022 August 17th, 2022 – August 21st, 2022 England Test cricket
India Women’s Tour of England, 2022 September 10th, 2022 – September 24th, 2022 England ODI and T20I cricket
ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 October 16th, 2022 – November 13th, 2022 Australia T20I cricket

Domestic Cricket Schedule 2022

Series Date Venue Format
Ranji Trophy 2021-22 February 17th, 2022 – June 26th, 2022 India First-class cricket
Indian Premier League 2022 March 26th, 2022 – May 29th, 2022 India T20 cricket
County Championship 2022 April 7th, 2022 – September 29th, 2022 England and Wales First-class cricket
T20 Blast 2022 May 25th, 2022 – July 16th, 2022 England and Wales T20 cricket
Royal London One-Day Cup 2022 August 2nd, 2022 – September 17th, 2022 England and Wales List A cricket
The Hundred Men’s Competition 2022 August 3rd, 2022 – September 3rd, 2022 England and Wales 100-ball cricket
The Hundred Women’s Competition 2022 August 11th, 2022 – September 3rd, 2022 England and Wales 100-ball cricket
Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022-23 TBA India List A cricket
Caribbean Premier League 2022 TBA West Indies T20 cricket
The Ford Trophy 2022-23 TBA New Zealand List A cricket
Big Bash League 2022-23 TBA Australia List A cricket

The Different Types of Cricket Formats

As seen in the cricket schedule above, there are multiple cricket formats with varying rules. We have explained the most widely played formats that are typically used in international and domestic cricket matches here below:

Test Cricket

Test matches go on for up to five days, having both teams play two innings each to decide an overall winner. These are habitually called first-class matches in domestic tournaments, as seen in the cricket schedule above, but are more notably known as test matches in international tournaments.

Test matches are the truest form of cricket where multiple factors significantly affect play, be it weather, team fatigue, or mental exhaustion, to name a few.

It requires bettors to develop an understanding of cricket nuances to be successful while betting on such matches, and constantly keep track of the various betting tips and match prediction sites online to gain deeper insights into this format.


In one-day international cricket matches, each team plays a fifty overs game lasting. If you notice in the cricket schedule above, a few tournaments have a List A cricket format. Domestic matches played in one day consisting of 40-60 overs are categorised under List A cricket.


One of the shortest cricket formats, a Twenty20 cricket match, sees each team batting for a maximum of 20 overs. The exciting play format involves many high-octane moments and attracts a lot of cricket betting enthusiasts worldwide.

There are shorter games than a T20 like the T10, with just a ten over long innings, or the 100-ball cricket, professionally played in The Hundred competition as noted in the cricket schedule.

The Greatest Cricket Series of All Time

It is challenging to choose the best cricket series from the plethora of games played throughout the years. However, we’ve picked what we think are the greatest series in the history of cricket up to now and listed one of the best series across each format.

Australia vs. India Test Series 2020-21

The visit of the Indians down under for the Border-Gavaskar Test series didn’t start great for team India as they scored their all-time lowest score of 36 in a test series in the first match.

However, what followed was a spur-of-the-moment change in captaincy, with Ajinkya Rahane now leading the team.

What we ultimately saw was a rollercoaster-like turn of events, with India making an astonishing comeback in the following matches, and even breaking Australia’s 32 years long undefeated streak at The Gabba while playing a squad that did not have senior players like Kohli, Ashwin, Bumrah, and Jadeja.

India won the test series 2-1, with one match ending as a draw. So breath-taking was the series that the ICC even adjudged it as one of the best test series so far in cricketing history.

South Africa vs. Australia ODI Series 2005-06

The games were neck and neck in this five-match series between the cricketing legends of that time, with the Proteas winning the first two matches followed by the Kangaroos winning the next two, making the series a finale decider.

The final ODI started with Australia breaking the record to be the first team to score over 400 runs with a whopping 434 runs for four wickets. But this was followed by South Africa winning with a shocking 438 runs, sealing it as one of the greatest ODI matches in history.

West Indies vs. South Africa T20I Series 2014-15

The West Indies had gone on a tour to South Africa for a tri-format series starting in December 2014. South Africa had beaten, and badly might we add, the West Indies team in the test and ODI leg of the series.

The three-match T20 series was predicted to go in South Africa’s favour too, but West Indies made a commendable comeback and won the first match while chasing South Africa’s target of 165 runs.

The West Indies performed even better in the second match and broke the record for the highest T20 run chase at the time, scoring 236 runs with four more balls left to play, and won the series 2-1.

Cricket Schedule FAQs

What are the best cricket betting websites?


Who will host the ICC T20 World Cup 2022?

The ICC T20 World Cup will be hosted by Australia, starting 16th October 2022. You can check the full cricket schedule of the tournament here, at the official ICC website.


How many hours is a T20 match?

A typical T20 match lasts for about three hours, with a 10-minute break in between.


Is Mankading banned?

Taking a wicket by Mankading was never banned in cricket, but was termed as a practice against the spirit of cricket. However, the MCC has recently notified that the practice will no longer be termed as unfair play.


Author: info

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.